pristiq for effexor

Update: Wyeth drops out of European sales of Prstiq after studies show its inefectiveness

Cleared for marketing as an antidepressant in the U.S., Pristiq is based on the active ingredient in Wyeth’s now-off-patent blockbuster Effexor. Some doctors and researchers question whether the drug is much different from–or better than–other antidepressants already on the market.

Pristiq not working (from Psychobabble)

After a week and a half on pristiq (Wyeth’s new drug to ‘improve upon’ Effexor which is going generic (so Wyeth reps are no longer distributing free samples to docs … JUST A WARNING to those this applies to), I spent several hours researching this drug today and finally realized that what I am experiecing is Effexor Withdrawal Syndrome! (without the brainzaps, probably because pristiq which is actually a natural compound created by our bodies and the chemical that effexor aides in producing) is providing some assistance.

Here’s a sample, probably the best I’ve found so far from the PsychCentral Blog, and be sure to click on Carlat’s 5 main reasons NOT to take Pristiq. Crazymeds has a forum on Effexor and Pristiq well worth looking into as well.

Just a reminder for those who don’t know what Effexor withdrawal is like: major mood swings, chills, sweats, feverish, exhausted, anxious, emotive, confused, terror, headaches ….All this because I mistakenly checked the wrong box on the HIPPA form and have no coverage for meds or anything other than MM and still pay $740 per month.

Don’t you just love these guys? Don’t you?
Here’s the official site

And here’s Wyeth’s analysis of withdrawl syndrome obtained from downloadable directions to health care practitioners.

<there>have been spontaneous reports of adverse events
occurring upon discontinuation of these drugs, particularly when abrupt, including the following:
dysphoric mood, irritability, agitation, dizziness, sensory disturbances (e.g., paresthesia, such as
electric shock sensations), anxiety, confusion, headache, lethargy, emotional lability, insomnia,
hypomania, tinnitus, and seizures.

Also just found this description of Serotonin Syndrome which explains why you would have to stop Effexor before starting pristiq… altho some docs are mixing the two until the pristiq starts working effectively …


Wyeth, based in Madison, N.J., said net income declined 6% to $1.12 billion, or 83 cents a share, from $1.20 billion, or 87 cents, a year earlier. Results for the latest quarter included charges of $110.5 million related to Wyeth’s cost-cutting program, which includes the elimination of about 6% of its work force so far.

Sales rose 5% to $5.9 billion, with virtually all of the gain coming from the weak dollar. Wyeth’s biggest product, the antidepressant Effexor, had sales of $1.02 billion, up 5%.

Wyeth executives indicated their focus won’t be solely on prescription drugs. The company plans to build up its nonpharmaceutical business, which includes consumer health care, nutritional and animal-health products. WSJ July 24.

~ by boatsie on July 25, 2008.

7 Responses to “pristiq for effexor”

  1. […] Pristiq for Effexor […]

  2. Does anyone elso have a problem with constipation while on Pristiq?

    • Sorry i missed your comment here … how are things going on the Pristiq? I have yet to find one person who was able to continue…

  3. I have been on antidepressants for 20 years. The last 10 on Effexor. I have never felt better after weaning off Effexor and not taking anything. I’m waiting to go on Pristiq or maybe not???

  4. I recently had a frightening day of symptoms after forgetting to take my 300 mg dose. I took it in the morning, but suffered anyway for the next 10 hours. I am familiar with the brain zaps that happen whenever I take them late. But this was much worse. I did not have the brain zaps, which was confusing — instead I had ringing ears, felt numb and like everything was delayed, had diminished sense of hearing and touch, was extremely sleepy, felt like all my muscles had gone completely slack and limp, felt agitated and wanted to go back to bed and hide from everyone. Which I did, and after some sleep and reading, I slowly began to feel better until around 6 PM I felt “normal” again. It was scary because of the lack of brain zaps, because without them I didn’t attribute these feelings to the same cause. Instead I wondered if maybe I was having a stroke.

    • Wow! this is some story. The other night I forgot to take my Effexor XR. I’ve been exercising a lot and weaning off. At about 6 i noticed how dizzy light headed sleepy almost about to pass out… i was freaked out. Yes, everything felt delayed. Out of kilter. I moved away from my desk and thought I was moving away from my kitchen counter. TWICE! I drove to the store and parked my car leaving a good 6 feet in front of me! I was afraid i would pass out as well.Took my meds and about 2 hours or so later felt better. still a little lightheaded the next day.

      God, this stuff is TOXIC!

Leave a Reply

 
